10 Oldest Noble Laureates of All Time

Who says it too late for you to do something? Who says you are too old to achieve something? Who says it’s all over? Because the following list shows that no one is too old to excel in life. And what better certification of this can be other than the List of Nobel Prize Winners– one of the most prestigious prizes in the world. The 10 people in this list won the award at the prime age of their lifetime and proved once you are determined, you can do anything even if the world tells you that you are too old. They epitomised that one should never give up, even when old age stands straight up on your face. Let’s take a look into oldest noble laureates in history

10.   Ferdinand Buisson

List of Nobel Prize Winners

French academic, educational bureaucrat, pacifist and politician Ferdinand Buisson won the Noble Peace Prize in the year 1927 at the age of 86 for his contributions to Franco-German popular reconciliation. He shared the prize with German pacifist Ludwig Quidde. Buisson was the president of League of Education for four years from 1902 to 1906. He was also the president of the Human Rights League for eight years from 1914 to 1926. He died on 16th February, 1932, at the age of 90.

9.   Yoichiro Nambu
Yoichiro Nambu Noble prize winner Physics

94 year old Japanese-born American physicist Yoichiro Nambu is the winner of Nobel Prize in Physics for the year 2008 at the age of 87 for discovering the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics. Presently, he is a professor at the University of Chicago. He has also won other prestigious awards, major among them are Heineman Prize , US National Medal of Science , Dirac Medal , J.J. Sakurai Prize , Wolf Prize in Physics, etc. Presently, he is the oldest living Nobel Laureate in the world

8.   Vitaly L.Ginzburg
Another Oldest Noble laureates Vitaly L.Ginzburg

Vitaly L. Ginzburg, the Soviet and Russian theoretical physicist, astrophysicist won the Nobel Prize in Physics in the year 2003 at the age of 87 for his outstanding contributions to the theory of superconductors and super-fluids. He is known as one of the fathers of Soviet hydrogen bomb. He was also a member of the Soviet and Russian Academies of Sciences. Besides the Nobel Prize, he also won Wolf Prize in Physics and Lomonosov Gold Medal. He died on 8th November, 2009, at the age of 93.

7.   Joseph Rotblat
Political Science oldest laurete

Polish-British physicist Joseph Rotblat won the Nobel Peace Prize in the year 1995 at the age of 87 for his pioneering efforts to diminish the role played by nuclear arms in international politics and, in the long run, to eliminate such arms. He is till date the oldest winner in of Nobel Prize in the Peace category. He won the Albert Einstein Peace Prize in 1992. He died on 31st August, 2005, at the age of 96.

6.   Karl von Frisch
Winner of the noble prize in medicine

Karl Von Frisch, the Austrian ethologist won the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in the year 1973 at the age of 87 for his discoveries concerned with organization and elicitation of individual and social behaviour patterns. He is one of the first person who translated the meaning of waggle dance. Throughout his lifetime, he also won Balzan Prize for Biology, Kalinga Prize, Magellanic Premium, and Lieben Prize. He died on 12th June, 1982 at the age of 95.

5.   Peyton Rous
famous Noble prize winners on earth

Peyton Rous won the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in the year 1966 at the age of 87 for discovering tumour-inducing viruses. He was involved in the discovery of the role of viruses in the transmission of certain types of cancer. In 1965, he won the National Medal of Science. He died on 16th February 1970 at the age of 90 years. Interestingly, he was awarded the Nobel Prize four decades after his actual discovery of the virus, a record in itself, due to the fact that when he discovered the virus, he was still a newcomer and didn’t have much credibility.

4.   Doris Lessing
oldest living Nobel Laureate in the world

British novelist, poet, playwright and librettist Doris Lessing is the only person on this list who won represents the literature department. At the age of 88, the short story writer won the Nobel Prize in Literature in the year 2007. The Nobel Prize committee while giving her the award, said, “(She has been awarded for being) that epicist of the female experience, who with scepticism, fire and visionary power has subjected a divided civilisation to scrutiny”. The biographer also holds the record for being the oldest woman so far to win a Nobel Prize and also the oldestNobel peace Prize winner in the category of Literature. Her writing show patterns of socialism, feminism modernism, postmodernism, Sufism, and science fiction. She died on 17th November, 2013 at the age of 94.

3.   Raymond Davis Jr.
Chemist and physicist Noble Prize

American chemist and physicist Raymond Davis Jr. won the Nobel Prize in Physics in the year 2002 at the age 88 years for his extraordinary contributions to astrophysics, especially for the detection of cosmic neutrinos. Till date, he is the oldest Nobel Laureate in the category of Physics. He is known for his work on Neutrinos. He also won Comstock Prize in Physics, Tom W. Bonner Prize, Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize, Wolf Prize in Physics, National Medal of Science and Enrico Fermi Award .He died on 31st May, 2006 at the age of 91.

2.   Lloud S. Shpley
History oldest noble laureates

91 year old American mathematician Lloyd S. Shapley won the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in the year 2012 at the age of 89 years for his work on the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design. He is also the recipient of John von Neumann Theory Prize, which he won in the year 1981. His contributions towards the field of mathematical economics and especially game theory, is truly pioneering in every sense.

1.   Leonid Hurwicz

oldest noble laureates in history

Polish-American economist and mathematician Leonid Hurwicz won the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in the year 2007 at the age of 90 years for laying down the foundations of mechanism design theory, thus becoming the oldest person ever to win a Nobel Prize. In 1990, he won the National Medal of Science. He died on 24th June, 2008, at the age of 90. Interestingly, the age difference between the youngest Nobel laureate (Malala Yousafzai, 17) and the oldest Nobel laureateof all time is 73 years.This was the comprehensive list of nobel prize winners.